NOTE: Once a workflow is created, the system automatically saves the workflow meaning that Admins do not need to manually save the workflow to preserve the work.
Once you access Workflows, the first workspace that you see is the list view. This workspace is where you see all the workflows, or folders of workflows, currently built on your account. This list is a complete list of all workflows on the account. Once a workflow is created, you can’t delete it from the account.
Each workflow in the list can be in a different stage of development. Some can be published and actively in use, published but not yet in use, or newly created and still in process.
Either way, this is where you can search for and open workflows to view or continue working on. This is also where you can create a new workflow to start a blank workflow. Otherwise, you can decide to take a few minutes to organize your workflows into folders to make it easier to manage.
In short, the list view workspace is where you find, open, create, and organize your workflows to make working in this workspace more productive.
Upon clicking the Create Workflow button, the system directs you to the create new workflow workspace.
This workspace is where you fill out the Create Workflow form. This form is where you tell the system the name and type of workflow you want to create on your account. This workflow, unlike when you duplicate a published workflow version, is a totally new, blank workflow.
After filling out and saving the form, the system creates the workflow and directs you to the editor workspace. The newly created, blank workflow is now ready for the building stage of its life cycle.
If you decide that you don’t want to create a new workflow, exit the workspace. Once you exit, the system directs you back to the list workspace. You can exit any time before clicking the Save button. Otherwise, once you click the Save button, the system starts creating the new workflow and you can’t delete the workflow from the account.
Learn about the mechanics and how to configure each module by visiting the Module Library here.
After a workspace is created, Admins are now ready to build the workflow by adding each module to the workflow workspace. However, if the workflow is published, the Admin will need to first create a new version of the workflow to add or modify modules on the workspace.
Once a module is added to the workspace, it’s ready for configuring and linking to other modules to create connection points.
After a module is added to the workspace, configured, and saved, the module is now ready for linking, or connecting modules together to create a workflow branch.
With modules that have multiple exit ports, make sure you link all exit ports to ensure the workflow runs each route through the module successfully.
Once objects are added to the workspace, rearranging and moving modules around is easy. Use this guide to move an object around the workspace.
All unpublished workflows are available for modification. A workflow is locked from any future changes only after it is published.
Here are the main areas of the Viewing Interface of Workflows to better familiarize yourself with this environment.
All unpublished workflows are available for continuous updating and editing. However, once a workflow is published, it is locked from any future changes, so Admins need to create a new version of the workflow by either copying an existing version or creating a new blank version. Then, the new workflow is ready for modification.
Copying an existing workflow version is helpful for rapidly building a new workflow instead of starting the building process from a blank workspace.
Update a workflow by creating a new blank
Routes in Workflows are not complete until the pathway reaches an official end point, which is done by using either an End or Transfer Module. Once all pathways are complete, Admins have access to publishing the workflow, which locks it from any future changes. However, before publishing a workflow, decide the routing options for the workflow because this impacts the publishing format, which is either Publish or Publish+Make Current.
Publish: Locks the workflow from future changes and becomes the active workflow only if the route has this specific workflow version selected.
Publish+Make Current: Locks the workflow from future changes and becomes the active workflow for routes that use the workflow version of “Current”.
Once a workflow is published, Admins can now route the published workflow to either one or more of these options: a number’s voice channel, a queue, or a web chat. After the workflow is routed, the workflow is officially activated for customers and agents.
Route your published workflows to a Number’s voice channel, a Web Chat, or a Queue. When routing to a Queue, notice that workflows can trigger based on different statuses of an interaction. Also, notice that workflows are only available for the voice route of a number; so message routes of a number must use a different route type, like a queue, ring group, or extension. Lastly, notice that workflows are available for routing before, during, or after an interaction is delivered to a queue.